Freedom of Information Center of Armenia.

հայերեն | english

FOI annual award ceremony

2021 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003

Awards winners

It is already six years that Freedom of Information Center organizes Freedom of Information Annual Award Ceremony since 2003. This year the award ceremony has been devoted to the 5th anniversary of RA law on “Freedom of Information” and struggle against corruption.Five positive and two negative awards have been awarded.

  • Positive award for the most transparent institution with the best system of providing information went to Eghegnadzor city.  
  • Positive award for the best official web site from the point of view of freedom of information has been awarded to the Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Armenia.
  • Positive award has been awarded to citizens Artashes Hovhannisyan and Armine Arakelyan for actively exercising their right to have access to government held information.
  • Award for the NGO, which has contributed to the exercising of the rights of access to information, went to “Hakastver” NGO.
  • Award for the journalist/media most actively covering FOI issues in 2008 went to "Yerkir Media" TV station and Ms. Mariam Barseghyan, “Yerkir Media” reporter.
The winners have been awarded with Golden Keys as a symbol for openness and transparency.
  • Negative award for an institution, which does not fulfill its obligations under the FOI law, went to Hrazdan Municipality.
  • Negative award for an institution providing the most ridiculous official answer went to Idjevan Municipality.
These municipalities have received a lock as the symbol of secrecy.The nominees were selected by the independent jury represented by the representatives of 11 local NGOs functioning in the field.The event was organized with the support of the USAID.
Share |